yoga for people who can’t be bothered to do it-geoff dyer

“Oui,” I said. “Je suis tout seul.” Perhaps it was because we were speaking French, but this question-Vous etes tout seul?-had taken on what I am cheaply tempted to call an existential quality. Shortly before coming here I had split with my girlfriend. I was all alone, had been alone much of my life, and would, in all probability, die alone. And it was, of course, speaking to another human being that brought this home to me. While I had been strolling on my own, I was quite happy, I was in the Zone. No sooner had I begun chatting with this fellow that I was burdened with the most terrible loneliness. That is another thing about the Zone; one moment you can be in it and the next moment you are no longer in it. You are just in some place, wishing something were different. I said good-bye to my new friend and walked on. I had to be on my own, just so that I would not feel so alone.” (201)

2 thoughts on “yoga for people who can’t be bothered to do it-geoff dyer

  1. “On the night he was gunned down.”
    “Who?”
    “Specifically, Versace, but anyone really. Anyone who was gunned down.”
    “Malcolm X was gunned down, wasn’t he, darling?”
    “Yes, although he wasn’t nearly so well known as a fashion designer.”
    “But those glasses he wore have become very fashionable. You see lots of people wearing them. You have a pair, don’t you, darling?”
    “Yes. And you know the really weird thing?”
    “What?”
    “They are made by Versace.”
    “That is so creepy.” (140)

  2. “Trees,” he said, continuing to point. “Stones”. He had no adjectives and no verbs, only nouns. It coincided with the way we had met: he had not walked towards me, he had not approached, sauntered, or made his way over; I was simply and suddenly confronted with the fact of his presence. This rudimentary stage of linguistic development also anticipates the one where civilizations inevitably end up: all around were the vestiges of nouns-columns, stones, trees. No verbs remained. Doing-history-was over with. Consistent with his verbless view of the world, Ahmed showed no signs of moving, leaving, or going. I became slightly suspicious of his motives, not because of any indication of ill intent, simply because there had to be some ulterior motive for persisting with a conversation of such appalling tedium.” (203)

    the rest: http://blogs.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=blog.ListAll&bID=533798193

Leave a Reply

