dining with the dictator-dany laferriere

this book is equally as good as the movie. i suppose i really do prefer homel as translator (we’ll see when i watch the movie for vers le sud, the one that i’ve come across that was translated by the other dood, that i had to fire). and yes, i’m still on this.

“A good line of poetry lives at room temperature. You begin by conjuring up its special smell that fills your being. The smell of the poet when he wrote the line. In this case, the line smells of cat piss, lime and human salt. Its taste is that of the Host, bread without leavening. A good line will burn your fingers. Its average speed is three hundred and sixty kilometers an hour. You don’t need more than one good line a day.” (99-100)

bigups to everybody at the breakthrough last night. it was amazing.

2 thoughts on “dining with the dictator-dany laferriere

  1. with freedom comes great responsibility:

    “I love reading my mail in the bathtub. With the water not too hot. Thinking about nothing.” (20)

    “When the guy left, Gege spat on the ground again. I’ve never seen anyone like Gege. Always in a rage. I wouldn’t want to be his enemy. Being his friend is bad enough.” (51)

    “A couple was sitting in the row in front of me. They were kissing lovingly. The people in the theater watched them with indulgent smiles. Then I saw the woman slip a note into another man’s hand, just as the show began. In that movie house, only three of us knew the real love story: the one between the woman and the other man who was smiling away the whole time. I discovered, completely by accident, that there’s always a secret story hidden behind the official one. We never understand all that reality holds. A little detail will always escape us. If we hadn’t seen that little detail-the note the woman slipped into the other man’s hand-we wouldn’t have known how the story really ended. The note meant, “I can kiss him all right, but you’re the one I love. You’re my man.” With proof like that, all the kisses in the world mean nothing at all. Just a little saliva going from one mouth to the next. I was practically nauseous when I understood that. I was ten years old. It was as awful as a rape. Since then, I’ve kept my eyes on what goes on behind the scenes to see whether someone isn’t slipping a note into someone else’s hand.” (147-8)

  2. Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive read anything like this before. So nice to find someone with some original ideas on this subject. realy thank you for starting this up. this web site is something that is wanted on the web, somebody with slightly originality. helpful job for bringing one thing new to the internet!

Leave a Reply

