the guernsey literary and potato peel pie society-mary ann shaffer and annie barrows

“she works at the grocery store and only hears the part about potato peels”

“i’m a reader, not a breeder.”

“get a day job, and keep it.”

these are all things that have been floating around my mental as of late-the middle one being the flash of genius that i must print onto a shirt. day jobs ground you in the real world and expose you to stories and experiences that you wouldn’t come across on your own. at any rate, i’m glad for the people that i can talk to about books, and that this one was recommended to me, not by a regular, but by someone that i probably won’t even remember.

the anatomy of loving a reader:

“It is my belief that with two such men in the household and no way to meet others, Emily had to make Heathcliff up out of thin air! And what a fine job she did. Men are more interesting in books than they are in real life.” (52)

“I suppose I do have a suitor, but I’m not really used to him yet. He’s terribly charming and he plies me with delicious meals, but I sometimes think I prefer suitors in books rather than right in front of me. How awful, backward, cowardly, and mentally warped that will be if it turns out to be true.” (121)

“I kept trying to explain and he kept shouting until I began to cry from frustration. Then he felt remorseful, which was so unlike him and endearing that I almost changed my mind and said yes. But then I imagined a lifetime of having to cry to get him to be kind, and I went back to no again.” (133)

“One thing I can say unequivocally: he’s worth dozens of Mark Reynoldses. I know you think I’m unreasonable about Reynolds, but you haven’t met him. He’s all charm and oil, and he gets what he wants. It’s one of his few principles. He wants Juliet because she’s pretty and “intellectual” at the same time, and he thinks they’ll make an impressive couple. If she marries him, she’ll spend the rest of her life being shown to people at theaters and clubs and weekends and she’ll never write another book. As her editor, I’m dismayed by that prospect, but as her friend, I’m horrified. It will be the end of our Juliet.” (194-5)

“You should probably burn this letter as well as the last one. I’ve refused Mark finally and irrevocably, and my elation is indecent. If I were a properly brought-up young lady, I’d draw the curtain and brood, but I can’t. I’m free! Today I bounced out of bed feeling frisky as a lamb, and Kit and I spent the morning running races in the pasture. She won, but that’s because she cheats.” (212)

sometimes, they really do look better on paper.

 

 

One thought on “the guernsey literary and potato peel pie society-mary ann shaffer and annie barrows

  1. singing my life with their words:

    “That’s what I love about reading: one tiny thing will interest you in a book, and that tiny thing will lead you onto another book, and another bit there will lead you onto a third book. It’s geometrically progressive-all with no end in sight, and for no other reason than sheer enjoyment.” (11-12)

    “I love seeing the bookshops and meeting the booksellers-booksellers really are a special breed. No one in their right mind would take up clerking in a bookstore for the salary, and no one in his right mind would want to own one-the margin of profit is too small. So, it has to be a love of readers and reading that makes them do it-along with first dibs on the new books.” (15)

    “Though it’s biologically impossible, I can only assume that some form of nepotism was responsible for the book’s publication.” (43)

    ouch. this is like when i got in to killa kela on guestlist and wanted my money back.

    “Reading good books ruins you for enjoying bad books.” (53)

    “Everyone was sickly from so little nourishment and bleak from wondering if it would ever end. We clung to books and to our friends; they reminded us that we had another part to us.” (64)

    “The principle work of the baby’s maintenance was undertaken by Amelia Maugery, with other Society members taking her out-like a library book-for several weeks at a time.” (83)

    “I’d like to read it too, chickens being the reason I fell off a hen-house roof-they’d chased me there. How they all came at me-with their razor lips and back-to-back eyeballs! People don’t know how chickens can turn on you, but they can-just like mad dogs. I didn’t keep hens until the war came-then I had to, but I am never easy in their company. I would rather have Ariel butt me on my bottom-that’s open and honest and not like a sly chicken, sneaking up to jab you.” (127-8)

    “Dear Sidney,

    Do you remember when you sat me down for fifteen sessions of the Sidney Stark School of Perfect Mnemonics? You said writers who sat scribbling notes during an interview were rude, lazy, and incompetent and you were going to make sure I never disgraced you. You were unbearably arrogant and I loathed you, but I learned your lessons well-and now you can see the fruits of your hard work:” (169)

    “Since you should know something about me, I have asked the Reverend Simon Simpless, of St. Hilda’s Church near Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk, to write to you. He has known me since I was a child and is fond of me. I have asked Lady Bella Taunton to provide a reference for me too. We were fire wardens together during the Blitz and she wholeheartedly dislikes me. Between the two of them, you may get a fair picture of my character.” (39)

    can you imagine? what a great way to answer a reference check question. i should do this next time it comes up.

Leave a Reply

