gonzo-hunter s. thompson

i learn something every single time i read something hunter s. thompson-related. this time? people are more willing to stop for people who ran out of gas than people looking for a ride, so if you’re looking to hitchhike, do it with an empty gas can (doubles as suitcase). bermuda shorts optional. awesome-immortalized.

“As things stand now, I am going to be a writer. I’m not sure that I’m going to be a good one or even a self-supporting one, but until the dark thumb of fate presses me to the dust and says, ‘you are nothing’, I will be a writer.” (The Proud Highway, June 3, 1959)

“Music has always been  a matter of energy to me, a question of Fuel. Sentimental people call it inspiration, but what they really mean is Fuel. I have always needed fuel. I am a serious consumer. On some nights I still believe that a car with the gas needle on empty can run about fifty more miles if you have the right music very loud on the radio.” (Kingdom of Fear, 2003)

“I had never seen people this strange. In a way it was like having a novel handed to you with the characters already developed.” (from Songs of the Doomed et al, 1990)

Leave a Reply

