foxy-pam grier

“..think i won’t suck that cheesy dick. pineapples, bitch…”

if anyone actually picks up this book looking for that quote, my work is done. not really, don’t do it-it’s from kevin hart’s movie laugh at my pain. can i just say how much i love this city and the fact that i can make it from my house to the movies in under 20 mins on a beauty-full sunday morning and only pay $6 to get in?! hello, AMC-we may have a standing date coming on…i got this for two reasons-1) i heard miz grier talk about it on the enoch pratt free library podcast and 2) i wanted to compare/contrast the story that i read from richard pryor’s point of view. the verdict? i’m going with george, who told me the other day (after i saw steven pinker in the red chair)-“don’t date famous people”. here’s something that i learned:

“After I’d known him for a while, Richard confided in me that he couldn’t read. He learned all of his lines phonetically with the help of a few intimate acquaintances, and more than anything in the world, he wanted me to teach him to read. I found some novels about humor and Western history, and he made great strides in his reading, with me coaching him along the way. It turned out that he loved words, and his dream was to read War and Peace. He said, ‘I heard that War and Peace is the hardest motherfuckin’ novel to read. I’m gonna read it. If I can’t read it, it’s so damned big, at least I can kill someone with it. Use it as a weapon.” (162)

“Actually, in many ways, Richard and I mirrored each other. As horrible as it was,  we’d both been raped at six years old, we had suffered the shame and indignity of it, and we understood the pain of silence.” (163)

and, well.

3 thoughts on “foxy-pam grier

  1. act won:

    “We ate like royalty back then because everything was fresh. This was before the emergence of the massive supermarkets where we buy our food today. We got our protein from the Korean deli around the corner, where they sold freshly killed chickens and recently caught fish. Some of our neighbors had chickens on their property and a cutoff tree stump for slaughtering them. They would catch a chicken, wring its neck and lay it across the stump, chop off its head like with a guillotine, and drain the blood. Then, to remove the feathers easily, they would drop it into boiling water for a few seconds.” (11)

    “These boots were functional back then, not the fashion craze that they are today. The irony is that I was ahead of my time, wearing Timberlands when they cost $9.95 at Sears instead of $175 at Nordstrom.” (81)

    “I agreed, but I had no idea that Sylvester Stewart was actually Sly Stone. I only found out when I arrived for work and there he was. It was a good thing I didn’t know who this man was because I might have backed out from intimidation. I sang with Stevie Wonder’s backup group, Wonder Love, and the guest drummer was legend Buddy Miles. Late into the night, Jimi Hendrix himself walked into the studio to jam with Sly. I could barely tolerate so much celebrity in one room. Remember, I was the girl from Colorado, and truly had just gotten off the turnip truck.” (83)

  2. shadow boxing:

    “I felt much more comfortable doing the DJ job, where I worked mostly in the dark and no one saw me unless they were deliberately looking.
    I kept a glass tip jar to my right and played rhythm and blues artists like Credence Clearwater Revival and disco artists like Donna Summer. I played Chicago, Marvin Gaye, Stevie Wonder, and some white rock like Three Dog Night. When people looked tired and needed a break, I switched to easy listening music until the crowd was ready to rock again. Then I spun Average White Band, Santana, and Tower of Power, one of Kareem’s favorite bands. He often visited me at the club, where he danced and people made a huge fuss over him. But it turned out that he wasn’t pleased to have me working at a nightclub. A conservative man at heart who was getting more so by the day, he didn’t want his girlfriend working.” (91-2)

    “Ever the cautious one, I needed to find out if Freddie was the same person back home that I had met in Chicago. It didn’t take me long to find out that he was. He and his roommate, another struggling comedian named Jay Leno, were doing stand-up at the Comedy Club, a popular LA nightclub. And Freddie was about to audition for a possible sitcom called /Chico and the Man/, with Jack Albertson as his co-star.” (140)

    “One night, when we had finished off a bottle of champagne, I asked him if he had brought a condom. It seemed like the champagne was acting as some kind of truth serum when he admitted, ‘I /am/ trying to get you pregnant. I love you, and I’m afraid you may not marry me. You may want out because I’m not cool enough. Or this or that enough. But if you have my baby, I’ll have a connection to you that will never go away.’” (147)

Leave a Reply

