scar tissue-anthony kiedis with larry sloman

for all the griping today about how this book was a waste of time, i would like to revise my complaint to say that it wasn’t a total waste of time, just that it could’ve benefitted from some further editing-like how kevin smith‘s dogma was good, it just didn’t need to be three hours long (and alanis morisette didn’t really need to be god). i was reminded of how exciting a musical time the early ’90s was-and how much i did love pearl jam, nirvana, and the chili peppers in the moment that segued into my pre-hip hop era. but music is what religion should be, and genres are just different denominations. see what brilliance comes to me on the ice rink-the place that seems to work in opposition to the natural state of entropy? yep-that’s canadian sexy-rude boys wining on tiny blades of ice.

“I wasn’t mimicking hockey players or people from Canada, it was just my idea of a punk-rock haircut. It was probably inspired by David Bowie and his Pinups era, but it wasn’t flaming red, and I didn’t have the standing-up thing in the front, I had bangs. To people at UCLA, it was abominable. Even my friends were freaked out by it. But Mike approved. He always said that one of my greatest accomplishments was that I had invented the mullet.” (88)

“Although Hillel and Flea were initially skeptical, since I wasn’t a singer, Gary had recognized my potential as a performer, mainly from my maniacal cavorting on the dance floor at various clubs around town. We decided to put together something, and it instantly became clear to me, thanks to Grandmaster Flash, that I didn’t have to sing a song, I could go out there and rap a poem.” (104)

“He was working at a bookstore when we met him, probably for minimum wage, but his job became a great source of income for us because they bought used books. Flea and I would go out and heist books from personal collections or libraries. A stack of books meant ten dollars and ten dollars meant we could buy drugs and shoot them and get high. We’d usually buy coke, which was a bad drug to be doing when you didn’t have a lot of money, because the minute it’s gone, you want more.” (119)

the photos are all out of order, it’s hard to keep track of the girls and the drug-related crises, and the dalai lama made him promise to answer the beastie boys‘ call to perform if it ever happened (it did). go figure. when i saw the dalai lama in vancouver, he presented 3/4 of his lecture through an interpreter, and finished off the last quarter in his own immaculate english. jokers everywhere-i love it.

2 thoughts on “scar tissue-anthony kiedis with larry sloman

  1. daddy issues:

    “He lavished gifts on me, including a brand-new set of skis and ski boots and poles and a jacket so I could go skiing that winter with him and Connie and Chastity, Sonny’s daughter with Cher. We would sit on the chairlift, and Sonny would give me his version of life. He definitely was on the straight and narrow. I remember him teaching me that the only unacceptable thing was to tell a lie. It didn’t matter if I’d made mistakes or fucked up along the way, I just had to be straight with him.” (29)

    “I was the only child present for all this insanity. For the most part, the adults who didn’t know me just ignored me. But Keith Moon, the legendary drummer for the Who, always tried to make me feel at ease. In the midst of this chaotic, riotous, party-life atmosphere where everyone was screaming and shouting and sniffing and snorting and drinking and humping, Moon would take the time to be still and take me under his arm and say, ‘How you doing, kid? Are you having a good time? Shouldn’t you be in school or something? Well, I’m glad you’re here, anyway.’ That always stuck with me.” (35)

    “But opening for the Rolling Stones is a shite job anyway. I can’t recommend it to anybody. You get the offer and you think, ‘Historically speaking, they’re the second most important rock band in the history of music, after the Beatles. So we should have a brush with history.’ But the fact is, the Rolling Stones’ audience today is lawyers and doctors and CPAs and contractors and real estate development people. This is a conservative, wealthy group. No one’s rocking out. The ticket prices and merchandise costs are astronomical. It’s more like ‘Let’s go to the Rolling Stones mall and watch them play on the big screen.’” (330)

    “The likenesses were obvious. Flea would be Baby Spice. John would play Sporty Spice. Chris Warren, our drum technician, was enlisted to play Scary Spice, and I would be Posh Spice. Thank God Ginger Spice was already out of the band and we didn’t have to fill her shoes. With the help of Flea’s assistant, Sherry Westridge, we got the right clothes and the right wigs and wore the right makeup. We each studied the personality and the body language of our Spice Girl, and learned the dance moves. We even had some rehearsals.” (406)

    this is a band of addicts and misfits that could barely coordinate their own music-making, but they came together to impersonate the Spice Girls to trick Flea’s daughter-that’s fucking love.

  2. going to your head:

    “I came up with these horrible and deceptive ways of getting high on coke. By then my hair was so long and matted that I’d slide syringes up into the undercarriage of my hairdo and consent to a full-body pat-down. I’d previously hidden the coke in a cereal box in the kitchen, so I’d rush downstairs and shoot up before Jennifer or her sister or her mom came in. I can’t imagine the emotional tourism that I inflicted on these people. I was lost in that addiction. And it was going to get a lot worse before it got any better.” (164)

    “John was standing in the bathtub, and I was sitting in the sink, and we had a fevered little sex party. What’s amazing was that the girls were so nonchalant about it, making small talk while they blew both of us. John and I looked at each other and shrugged. ‘Whoooaa, Baltimore. Who knew?’” (252)

    other than john waters?

    “A few weeks later, I was doing errands and ran into Sinead. One look at her, and I just melted. I would have married her on the spot. We struck up a conversation, and I reminded her that we had met back at the festival and that I’d given her a note.” (268)

    “We’d drive around and listen to music and kiss and whatnot, but she wasn’t exactly letting me all the way in her door, so to speak. And I don’t mean just vaginally. This went on for weeks, and it became the most wonderful, nonsexual relationship I’d ever had. I adored her, and every day I’d wake up and write her a little poem and fax it to her.” (269)

    aw. love letter-romance-shunned by the pope ripper.

    “John was reading a lot of William Borroughs then, and his view, from Borroughs, was that every true artist is at war with the world.
    Ironically, the more disdain he developed for our success, the more popular we became. The more he would stomp his feet, the more records we would sell; the more disenchanted he became with the number of people who walked through the door, the more people /would/ walk through the door. I thought it was the most beautiful thing that we had created something special, put it out to the world, and this was how the world was responding.” (285)

    i just saw this in ATCQ documentary, right?

    “If anything, everything was making me less selfish and less self-centered, and more interested in getting out of myself and being in a place where I could share. A lot of times people will judge you on their perceived idea of how you’re acting. If you’re in a room and you’re feeling shy and you don’t want a certain amount of attention, you’re not going out of your way to make friends with everybody. Then someone’s going to walk away going, ‘That arrogant motherfucker, he didn’t even try to talk to me.’ You’re trying to lay low and not make a big deal about yourself, but they’re seeing you as this guy who’s all that and a bag of fucking chips.” (294)

    “I loved living in this cool penthouse apartment with her, but it was never smooth sailing. We’d both been such fucking dope fiends for so long that we never had a chance to grow out of our childish behavior. We must have loved the drama and the constant rush of fighting and making up and starting the whole cycle over again. It was just crazy.” (429)

Leave a Reply

