may you never cry again-bernie mac

the thing about comedians when they write more than one book is that there is a bit of overlap. but this is the same as seeing them live (except louis c.k. right now). but we all can benefit from hearing a few things a couple of times. his brief allusion to mantan moreland here made me want to watch bamboozled again, considering how deliberate casting savion glover must have been in that role-“feets don’t fail me now”. no matter what, bernie mac will always have a place in comedy history, and our hearts. RIP.

“No matter. I was going to try to do my own thing, my own way. And I wasn’t worried about the future. I’d made up my mind: I was a comedian. All of this was gravy. I’d been a janitor and a bus driver and I’d built houses from the ground up and I’d chased rats and shoveled scrap iron and fried fish and delivered bread, and I’d done it all honestly. I wasn’t about to get dishonest with my comedy. I wasn’t going to do comedy I didn’t believe in. Comedy was it for me, brother. Nothing as important as comedy.” (231)

thank you, mister.

One thought on “may you never cry again-bernie mac

  1. growing folks:

    “That’s what I remember when I think of my childhood. That I grew up at the right place. That my family allowed me to be a little boy and then a teenager, and made sure I became a proper man.” (43)

    “That’s right, brother. I believe. I believe in God with all my heart, but I stopped going to church a long time ago. I don’t need a church. I carry my church with me at all times, inside my own self.
    When I think of prayer, you know what I think of? I think of my mother telling me to go down into the darkness to be alone with my thoughts. That dark place is where my prayers get answered.
    /God helps those who help themselves./” (150)

    “A parent that lets his child do any old thing-stay out late, sass back, run off with friends he’s never met-that’s not a parent. It’s easy, sure, but it doesn’t do a damn thing for the child. It makes him think you don’t care, and that’s deadly: A child sees himself through the eyes of his parents. If he feels you don’t care about him, he’s not going to care about himself, either.” (241)

    “So I went down the next night. Lot of names there. Eddie Murphy. Damon Wayans. Arsenio Hall. Robert Townsend. They were all hanging out in their groups and cliques, and everyone just ignored me. So I sat back and watched the show. Thing about me is, I can get through a door if it’s a question of going onstage, but when it comes to meeting people-I’m not pushy. I’m happy in my little corner.” (205-6)

    “Maybe if I’d been in my twenties when all of this happening, I’d be like a lot of young actors. Partying, jumping in and out of each other’s beds, getting crazy. But success came to me later in life, when I was already an adult, when I already knew myself and liked myself, when I’d already staked out my world. The people who are in my life now are the people I want in my life. It’s not that I don’t have room for new friendships, but friendships are hard work. And like my grandma said: If you have a handful of good, loving people in your life, you’re a lucky man. Well, I’m here to tell you: Bernie Mac is a lucky man.” (276-7)

Leave a Reply

